Egg (oocyte) donation

Oocyte donation is a technique of medically assisted procreation which is prohibited in Switzerland.

Who could be concerned by oocyte (egg) donation ?
Some women, even of childbearing age, produce little or no oocytes (eggs), which makes it difficult or impossible to procreate.
These are women who do not have ovaries, or whose ovaries are not functional. The absence of ovaries is usually due to a  surgical or medical ablation subsequent to medical conditions. Ovarian dysfunction may also be of physiological (menopause) or genetic origin. It may also result from a premature stop of ovarian function (called primary ovarian failure or early menopause) .
For these women, the donation of oocytes from another woman is the only way to achieve pregnancy. Donor oocytes are fertilized in vitro with sperm from the recipient's partner, and the resulting embryos are transferred into the uterus of the recipient. The uterus of the recipient woman must be functional.
Oocyte donation is also considered for couples who have tried unsuccessfully several cycles of IVF or ICSI , as well as for women who are carriers of a genetic disorder.

Where and how to access egg donation ?
Oocyte donation is prohibited in Switzerland, which is also the case in Germany, Austria, and Italy. In countries where it is permitted, the legislation is variable.
The anonymity of the donor is the rule in almost all countries except Sweden (since 1985), Finland and the United Kingdom (since 2005). The Netherlands and Belgium have introduced a double possibility : the donor can choose to remain anonymous or not. In France, Spain, Greece, Czech Republic and Poland, the donation of gametes ( sperm or oocytes) must remain anonymous, the laws of these countries establish that there be no link between the donor and the child born of the donation. No legal relationship can be established between them.

How to  go forward?
Many couples face the issue of considering the possibility of a pregnancy and birth from a donated egg.

The other option for becoming parents remains adoption. This procedure is legal and well established in Switzerland.

Couples reflecting on oocyte donation should discuss the medical, ethical, legal and psychological issues with experts. These questions are, for example, related to the couple's acceptance of this technique of procreation, the impact on the relationships to the child, the anonymity of the donation and the management of information in the entourage.

Given the complexity of this process, couples are encouraged to first contact a physician specializing in reproductive medicine and gynecological endocrinology. Thereafter, a meeting with a specialist of the psychological aspects of medically assisted procreation is recommended. If the partners persevere in the path of oocyte donation, they will then directly contact a specialized center abroad. It is essential that each couple confronted with egg donation acquire the best possible knowledge on this particular manner to conceive a child.

The physicians of the CPMA-Lausanne are available to answer any other questions you may have.

CPMA, Rue de la Vigie 5, 1003 Lausanne, tél: 021 321 15 80

Le don d'ovocytes

Le don d'ovocytes est une technique de procréation médicalement assistée qui est interdite en Suisse

Qui est concerné par le don d’ovocytes ?

Certaines femmes, même en âge de procréer, ne produisent que peu ou pas d’ovocytes, ce qui rend la procréation difficile, voire impossible.

Il s’agit de femmes qui n’ont pas d’ovaires, ou dont les ovaires ne sont pas fonctionnels. L’absence d’ovaires est généralement due à une ablation chirurgicale ou médicamenteuse consécutive à un problème médical antérieur. Le dysfonctionnement ovarien peut être d’origine physiologique (ménopause) ou génétique. Il peut également résulter d’un arrêt prématuré du fonctionnement des ovaires (insuffisance ovarienne primaire ou ménopause précoce).

Pour ces femmes, le don d’ovocytes d’une autre femme représente la seule possibilité d’obtenir une grossesse. Les ovocytes de la donneuse sont fécondés in vitro avec le sperme du conjoint de la receveuse, et les embryons qui en résultent sont transférés dans l’utérus de la femme receveuse. L’utérus de la femme receveuse doit être fonctionnel.

Le don d’ovocytes s’adresse également aux couples qui ont tenté sans succès plusieurs cycles de FIVETE ou ICSI, ainsi qu’aux femmes porteuses d’une maladie génétique héréditaire.

Où et comment se  pratique le don d’ovocytes ?

Le don d’ovocytes est interdit en Suisse, ce qui est également le cas en Allemagne, en Autriche, et en Italie. Dans les pays où il est autorisé, la législation est très variable.

L’anonymat de la donneuse est la règle dans quasiment tous les pays, hormis la Suède (depuis 1985) et le Royaume-Uni (depuis 2005).  Les Pays-Bas et la Belgique ont instauré une double possibilité : les donneuses peuvent choisir de rester anonymes ou pas. En France, en Espagne, en Grèce, en République Tchèque et en Pologne, le don de gamètes (sperme ou ovocytes) doit rester anonyme; les lois de ces pays prévoient qu’il n’existe aucun lien entre le donneur et l’enfant né du don. Aucun lien de filiation ne pourra être établi entre eux.

Comment s’y prendre ?

Beaucoup de couples confrontés à ce problème réfléchissent à la possibilité de vivre une grossesse et une naissance issues d’un don d’ovocyte. L’autre option pour devenir parents reste l’adoption. Cette procédure est légale et bien établie en Suisse. Les couples qui réfléchissent au don d’ovocyte peuvent discuter avec des spécialistes les questions médicales, légales, éthiques et psychologiques. Ces questions sont par exemple liées à l’acceptation de cette technique de procréation, à la relation à l’enfant, à l’anonymat du don et à la gestion de l’information dans l’entourage proche.

Au vu de la complexité de cette réflexion, les couples sont encouragés à s’adresser en premier lieu à un médecin spécialisé en médecine de la reproduction et endocrinologie gynécologique. Par la suite, une rencontre avec un spécialiste des aspects psychologiques de la procréation médicalement assistée est également recommandée. Si le couple persévère dans la voie du don d’ovocyte, il devra contacter directement un Centre à l’étranger. L’objectif pour chaque couple est d’acquérir les connaissances optimales de cette possibilité de procréation.

Les médecins du CPMA-Lausanne sont à votre disposition pour répondre à toute autre question.

 

CPMA, Rue de la Vigie 5, 1003 Lausanne, tél: 021 321 15 80