Artificial insemination with the partner's sperm (AIH)

IntrauterineWithin the uterine cavity. inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. (IUI) with the partner's spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. is generally the first treatment proposed when the spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. or the cervical mucusMucous secretion of the cervix of the uterus, through which the migration of spermatozoa into the uterus and fallopian tubes occurs. The amount and consistency of cervical mucus changes at the time of ovulation to allow sperm access to the fallopian tubes where fertilization of the egg takes place. are the cause of subfertilityReduced fertility..

Medical indications for IUI: pathological spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm.-mucus compatibility test, unexplained infertilityDifficulty for a man or a woman to procreate as a result of a functional disorder or an organic lesion of the reproductive system, generally acknowledged after one year of regular, unprotected sexual relations. of more than 2 years, decreased semen volume or a reduced number, mobility and / or morphologyShape, conformation. of the spermatozoa (male factor, known as the oligo-terato-asthenozoospermiaReduction in sperm motility. Sperm are either stationary or slower than normal sperm. syndrome  (OTA)).

Ovarian stimulationMedical treatment designed to stimulate the ovaries, the follicular growth and development. This treatment usually allows several oocytes to become mature. may be associated with the inseminations with the partner's spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. (AIH). This allows to solve some hormonal problems and is intended to restore ovulationThe release of the egg from the ovary. A mature follicle bursts, expelling the egg it contains into the fallopian tube. This usually occurs around the middle of the menstrual cycle. or to increase the number of follicles reaching maturity. It also supports the preparation of the endometriumMucous membrane of the inner wall of the uterus. During the menstrual cycle, the uterine lining builds up to the time of ovulation. If fertilization occurs, the egg may implant in the uterus, otherwise, the periods appear. The mucosa which had thickened for the implantation of the fertilized egg degenerates and is expelled from the uterus in the form of bleeding. for embryoTerm designating the early stages of development from conception to the eighth week of pregnancy. From the first cell division on, the two-cell stage, one uses the term embryo. implantationInstallation of the embryo in the uterine lining.. StimulationOvarian stimulation. Medical treatment designed to stimulate the ovaries, the follicular growth and development. This treatment usually allows several oocytes to become mature. involves drugs such as clomiphene citrate, or injections of hormonesSubstances secreted by the endocrine glands. Hormones act as chemical messengers for regulating metabolic processes throughout the body. (follicleFluid-filled sac in the ovary containing and nourishing the egg during its maturation. During ovulation, the follicle bursts and releases the egg. stimulating hormone, FSHFollicle stimulating hormone. Hormone secreted by the pituitary stimulating in the woman the growth of follicles inside the ovary and in the man the development of spermatozoa., luteinizing hormone, LHLuteinizing hormone. Hormone secreted by the pituitary gland, triggering on the one hand the expulsion of the ovum by the mature follicle and stimulating on the other hand the production of progesterone by the corpus luteum.; pregnancy hormone, HCGHuman chorionic gonadotropin. Hormone produced by the placenta during pregnancy. It causes the secretion of estrogen and progesterone by the corpus luteum to support the growth of the uterine lining. It also prevents menstruation in the first days of pregnancy.). 
 These injections are given subcutaneously, usually by the patient herself or her partner. In all cases, after the StimulationOvarian stimulation. Medical treatment designed to stimulate the ovaries, the follicular growth and development. This treatment usually allows several oocytes to become mature. is initiated, ultrasound scans will allow the doctor to ensure that the ovarian response is controlled and the risk of a multiple pregnancy is within acceptable limits.

The optimal time for inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. is determined by testing hormonesSubstances secreted by the endocrine glands. Hormones act as chemical messengers for regulating metabolic processes throughout the body. in the blood, by one or more vaginalRelating to the vagina. ultrasounds or qualitative LHLuteinizing hormone. Hormone secreted by the pituitary gland, triggering on the one hand the expulsion of the ovum by the mature follicle and stimulating on the other hand the production of progesterone by the corpus luteum. tests in the morning urine. Once the date and time of inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. have been set by the physician in charge, the FERTAS laboratory gives an appointment to the partner for spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. collection (obtained by masturbation) one to two hours before the planned inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus.. The semen is to be prepared in the laboratory by detecting the motile spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. and eliminating the seminal fluid. The inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. is performed at the CPMA by the physician in charge and consists of introducing the suspension of spermatozoa into the uterusPear-shaped organ that contains and nourishes the fetus during pregnancy, which contracts in a powerful and rhythmic manner at birth to expel the fetus. using a flexible catheterSmall tube that can be inserted into organs., while the patient is in the classical gynecological position. This medical procedure is painless.

The patient can perform a urinary pregnancy test 14 days after the inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. . She will then communicate the positive or negative result by telephone to the CPMA in order to receive further instructions.

The success rates can be obtained here.

Schéma illustrant le parcours des gamètes
Illustration of deposition and migration of the spermatozoa after IIU (diagram by courtesy of Merck Serono)

CPMA, Rue de la Vigie 5, 1003 Lausanne, tél: 021 321 15 80

L'insémination avec sperme du conjoint (IAC)

L'inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur. intra-utérine (aussi appelé inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur. artificielle) avec le spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. du conjoint (IAC) est souvent indiquée lorsque les spermatozoïdes ou la glaire cervicaleSécrétion muqueuse du col de l’utérus (cervix) permettant le déplacement des spermatozoïdes vers l’utérus et les trompes. La quantité et la consistance de la glaire cervicale changent au moment de l’ovulation, afin de permettre aux spermatozoïdes d’accéder aux trompes où se fait la fécondation de l’ovule. sont à l'origine de l'hypofertilité.

Indications médicales: test de compatibilité spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin.-mucus pathologique, infertilitéImpossibilité de se reproduire. L’infertilité n’a pas le caractère définitif de la stérilité. inexpliquée de plus de 2 ans, volume de spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. diminué, diminution du nombre, de la mobilité et/ou de la morphologieForme, conformation. des spermatozoïdes (facteur masculin, connu sous le nom de syndrome d'oligo-térato-asthénozoospermieRéduction de la mobilité des spermatozoïdes. Les spermatozoïdes sont soit immobiles, soit plus lents que les spermatozoïdes normaux. (OTA)).

Une stimulation ovarienneTraitement médical ayant pour but de stimuler, dans les ovaires, la croissance et le développement folliculaire. Ce traitement permet généralement d'amener à maturité plusieurs ovocytes. peut être associée aux inséminations avec spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. du conjoint (IAC). Elle permet de palier à un problème hormonal et vise soit à rétablir une ovulationLibération de l’ovule. Un follicule parvenu à maturité éclate, expulsant l’ovule qu’il contient dans la trompe. Ceci se produit généralement vers le milieu du cycle menstruel., soit à augmenter le nombre de follicules arrivant à maturité. Elle soutient également la préparation de l’endomètreMuqueuse de la paroi intérieure de l’utérus. Pendant le cycle menstruel, la muqueuse utérine se construit jusqu’au moment de l’ovulation. S’il y a fécondation, l’ovule peut s’implanter dans l’utérus; dans le cas contraire, les règles apparaissent. La muqueuse qui s’était épaissie en vue de la nidation de l’ovule fécondé dégénère et est expulsée de l’utérus sous forme d’hémorragie. pour l’implantationProcessus dans lequel l’ovule fécondé, dans la phase précoce du développement prénatal, pénètre dans la muqueuse utérine et s’y installe (nidation). de l’embryonTerme désignant les stades précoces de développement de la conception jusqu’à la huitième semaine de grossesse. Dès la première division cellulaire, le stade bicellulaire, on parle d’embryon.. La stimulationStimulation ovarienne. Traitement médical ayant pour but de stimuler, dans les ovaires, la croissance et le développement folliculaire. Ce traitement permet généralement d'amener à maturité plusieurs ovocytes. fait appel à des médicaments, tel que le citrate de clomiphene, ou à des injections d’hormonesSubstances sécrétées par les glandes endocrines. Les hormones servent de messagers chimiques pour la régulation de processus métaboliques dans l’ensemble de l’organisme. (hormone folliculo-stimulante, FSHHormone folliculo-stimulante. Hormone sécrétée par l’hypophyse stimulant chez la femme la croissance des follicules dans l’ovaire et chez l’homme le développement des spermatozoïdes.; hormone lutéinisante, LHHormone lutéinisante. Hormone sécrétée par l’hypophyse, déclenchant d’une part l’expulsion de l’ovule par le follicule mûr et stimulant d’autre part la production de progestérone par le corps jaune.; hormone de grossesse, hCGHormone chorionique gonadotrope humaine. Hormone produite par le placenta pendant la grossesse. Elle provoque la sécrétion d’oestrogènes et de progestérone par le corps jaune pour soutenir la croissance de la muqueuse utérine. En outre, elle évite la menstruation dans les premiers jours de la grossesse.).
 Ces injections sont administrées par voie sous-cutanée, généralement par la patiente elle-même ou par son partenaire. Dans tous les cas, lorsqu’une stimulationStimulation ovarienne. Traitement médical ayant pour but de stimuler, dans les ovaires, la croissance et le développement folliculaire. Ce traitement permet généralement d'amener à maturité plusieurs ovocytes. est entreprise, des échographies permettent au médecin de s’assurer que la réponse ovarienne reste contrôlée et que le risque de grossesse multiple est acceptable.

Le moment optimal pour l'inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur. artificielle est déterminé par des analyses hormonales dans le sang, par une ou plusieurs échographies vaginales ou par des tests qualitatifs de la LHHormone lutéinisante. Hormone sécrétée par l’hypophyse, déclenchant d’une part l’expulsion de l’ovule par le follicule mûr et stimulant d’autre part la production de progestérone par le corps jaune. dans les urines du matin. Une fois le jour et l'heure de l'inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur. fixés par le médecin responsable, le laboratoire FERTAS fixe un rendez-vous au conjoint pour le prélèvement de spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. (par masturbation) une à deux heures avant l'inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur.. Ce spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. doit être préparé au laboratoire pour en isoler les spermatozoïdes mobiles et éliminer le plasma séminal. L'inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur. est réalisée au CPMA par le médecin responsable et consiste à introduire la suspension de spermatozoïdes dans l'utérusOrgane en forme de poire renfermant et nourrissant le foetus pendant la grossesse, qui se contracte de manière puissante et rythmique à la naissance pour expulser le foetus. au moyen d'un cathéterPetit tube que l’on introduit dans les organes. souple, alors que la patiente est en position gynécologique. Le geste médical est indolore.

Un test de grossesse urinaire sera effectué par la patiente 14 jours après l'inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur.. Elle communiquera le résultat positif ou négatif par téléphone au CPMA pour discussion concernant la suite des examens ou du traitement.

Vous trouverez en cliquant ici, les taux de succès des inséminations intra-utérines.

 

Schéma illustrant le parcours des gamètes
Parcours des spermatozoïdes après une IAC (schéma: Merck Serono)

CPMA, Rue de la Vigie 5, 1003 Lausanne, tél: 021 321 15 80