Definition of infertility

InfertilityDifficulty for a man or a woman to procreate as a result of a functional disorder or an organic lesion of the reproductive system, generally acknowledged after one year of regular, unprotected sexual relations. is a diminished ability to conceive and produce an offspring. More specifically, it is the inability to conceive after one year of regular sexual intercourse.

The causes of infertilityDifficulty for a man or a woman to procreate as a result of a functional disorder or an organic lesion of the reproductive system, generally acknowledged after one year of regular, unprotected sexual relations. are numerous. They can be due in 30% of cases to a female problem, in 30% to a male problem, in 30% to a combined male and female origin and in 10% to unknown causes.

Most types of infertilityDifficulty for a man or a woman to procreate as a result of a functional disorder or an organic lesion of the reproductive system, generally acknowledged after one year of regular, unprotected sexual relations. can be treated either by medical procedures (operations, drug treatment), by laboratory techniques (in vitroLatin for "in glass" for example in a test tube, as opposed to processes taking place inside the body. fertilizationFusion of an egg and a spermatozoon, fertilization occurs naturally in the fallopian tubes., intracytoplasmic spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. injection, etc ...) or by closer surveillance of pregnancy in a specialized environment.

The rate of infertilityDifficulty for a man or a woman to procreate as a result of a functional disorder or an organic lesion of the reproductive system, generally acknowledged after one year of regular, unprotected sexual relations. is increasing in many countries. The average age of women delivering their first child has also increased since the 1970's. Many parameters explain this situation: 1) the use of contraception allows to delay the time the first child is conceived, 2) the realignment of priorities in our modern societies place the desire to conceive after the one to succeed professionally.

To conceive, a woman must ovulate, that is to say a mature oocyteA female reproductive cell. At birth, the ovaries contain 1 to 2 million oocytes. At puberty, there are no more than 400'000 to 500'000 left. Only 400 to 500 will reach maturity and ovulation at a rate of  one per month until menopause. All the others will finally degenerate at various stages of development. must be released from the ovary and must be quickly taken up by the fallopian tubes. She must then have sexual intercourse during the next 24 hours, during which the man deposits in her vagina a few million spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm.. Only part of the spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm., the most mobile, will go through the cervixLower part of the uterus, adjacent to and reaching into the vagina, which secretes an alkaline mucus to protect the sperm from acidic environment of the vagina. to the fallopian tubes and migrate where fertilizationFusion of an egg and a spermatozoon, fertilization occurs naturally in the fallopian tubes. takes place. The embryoTerm designating the early stages of development from conception to the eighth week of pregnancy. From the first cell division on, the two-cell stage, one uses the term embryo. created by the merging of the spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. with the egg begins to divide many times before it can hatch and establish itself, between the 7th and 10th day in the uterine liningSee endometrium. Subsequently, during nine months, the embryoTerm designating the early stages of development from conception to the eighth week of pregnancy. From the first cell division on, the two-cell stage, one uses the term embryo. and the fetusA term for the product of conception in the mother's body after the organs have formed, that is to say after the third month. will develop to allow for the birth of a child.

It is thus clear that infertilityDifficulty for a man or a woman to procreate as a result of a functional disorder or an organic lesion of the reproductive system, generally acknowledged after one year of regular, unprotected sexual relations. can affect both men and women. Therefore it is important that both partners are involved in identifying the causes and treatment of their problem.

CPMA, Rue de la Vigie 5, 1003 Lausanne, tél: 021 321 15 80

Définition de l'infertilité

L'infertilitéImpossibilité de se reproduire. L’infertilité n’a pas le caractère définitif de la stérilité. correspond à une aptitude diminuée à concevoir et à engendrer une descendance. De manière plus spécifique, elle correspond à l'inaptitude de concevoir après une année de rapports sexuels réguliers.

Les causes de l'infertilitéImpossibilité de se reproduire. L’infertilité n’a pas le caractère définitif de la stérilité. sont multiples. Elles peuvent être ramenées dans 30% des cas à un problème féminin, dans 30% à une problème masculin, dans 30% à une origine masculine et féminine et dans 10% à une cause inconnue.

La plupart des types d'infertilitéImpossibilité de se reproduire. L’infertilité n’a pas le caractère définitif de la stérilité. peuvent être traités, soit par des procédures médicales (opérations, traitements médicamenteux), par des techniques de laboratoire (fécondationFusion d’un ovule et d’un spermatozoïde; la fécondation naturelle a lieu dans les trompes. in vitroExpression latine signifiant “dans un verre” par exemple dans une éprouvette, par opposition aux processus se déroulant à l’intérieur du corps., injection intracytoplasmique de spermatozoïdeCellule reproductive produite par les organes génitaux masculins., etc...) ou par une surveillance accrue de la grossesse dans un environnement spécialisé.

L'infertilitéImpossibilité de se reproduire. L’infertilité n’a pas le caractère définitif de la stérilité. est en augmentation dans de nombreux pays. L'âge moyen des femmes accouchant de leur premier enfant augmente depuis les années 70. De nombreux paramètres expliquent cette situation: 1) le recours à la contraception permet de reculer le moment où le premier enfant est conçu, 2) le réajustement des priorités dans nos sociétés modernes place le désir de concevoir après celui de réussir sur le plan professionnel.

Pour concevoir, une femme doit ovuler, c'est-à-dire relâcher depuis l'ovaire un ovocyteCellule reproductive féminine. A la naissance, les ovaires contiennent 1 à 2 millions d’ovocytes; à la puberté, il n’en reste plus que 400 000 à 500 000. 400 à 500 seulement parviendront à maturité/à l’ovulation “un par mois” jusqu’à la ménopause. Tous les autres dégénèrent à divers stades de développement. mature qui est rapidement pris en charge par les trompes. Elle doit ensuite avoir un rapport sexuel durant les 24 heures qui suivent, au cours duquel l'homme déposera dans son vagin quelques millions de spermatozoïdes. Seule une partie de ces spermatozoïdes, les plus mobiles pourront traverser le col de l'utérusOrgane en forme de poire renfermant et nourrissant le foetus pendant la grossesse, qui se contracte de manière puissante et rythmique à la naissance pour expulser le foetus. et migrer jusqu'aux trompes où la fécondationFusion d’un ovule et d’un spermatozoïde; la fécondation naturelle a lieu dans les trompes. aura lieu. L'embryonTerme désignant les stades précoces de développement de la conception jusqu’à la huitième semaine de grossesse. Dès la première division cellulaire, le stade bicellulaire, on parle d’embryon. issu de la fusion du spermatozoïdeCellule reproductive produite par les organes génitaux masculins. avec l'ovocyteCellule reproductive féminine. A la naissance, les ovaires contiennent 1 à 2 millions d’ovocytes; à la puberté, il n’en reste plus que 400 000 à 500 000. 400 à 500 seulement parviendront à maturité/à l’ovulation “un par mois” jusqu’à la ménopause. Tous les autres dégénèrent à divers stades de développement. commencera à se diviser de très nombreuses fois avant de pouvoir éclore et s'implanter, entre le 7ème et le 10ème jour, dans la muqueuse utérineVoir endomètre.. Par la suite, durant 9 mois, l'embryonTerme désignant les stades précoces de développement de la conception jusqu’à la huitième semaine de grossesse. Dès la première division cellulaire, le stade bicellulaire, on parle d’embryon. puis le foetusTerme désignant le produit de la conception dans le corps maternel une fois que les organes se sont formés, c’est-à-dire après le 3ème mois. se développeront pour permettre la naissance d'un enfant.

Il apparaît donc clairement que l'infertilitéImpossibilité de se reproduire. L’infertilité n’a pas le caractère définitif de la stérilité. concerne aussi bien l’homme que la femme. C'est pourquoi il est important que les deux partenaires soient associés à l'identification des causes et au traitement de leur problème.

CPMA, Rue de la Vigie 5, 1003 Lausanne, tél: 021 321 15 80