Questions from couples considering DI

What are the indications for donor insemination (DI)?

The discovery of ICSIFrom English "Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection." Assisted fertilization by microscope, where a single sperm is injected directly into the oocyte. ICSI is indicated in cases of male fertility problems, so if there are only very few normal sperm in the sperm or the fertilization capacity of sperm is extremely small. has reduced the number of couples to having to recourse to donor inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. (DI), but there are still many indications:

Why sperm donation?

Receiving a spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. donation is the only way for a couple where the man is permanently sterile to conceive, experience pregnancy, childbirth, to pass on part of its genetic heritage. It allows the legal father to experience his wife's pregnancy and the birth of the child. The couple is involved from the start in the child's development and education. It is clear that the use of inseminations by donor spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. (DI) is not an easy process and some couples prefer, despite other difficulties, the idea of adoption. 

Who can benefit from donor insemination (DI)?

Under the Swiss law on medically assisted procreation (LPMAThe Swiss Law on Medically Assisted Procreation (2001)., Art 3 al.3), only married couples may resort to spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. donation. Couples must clearly present a medical indication on the man's side to benefit from this treatment.

What is the procedure?

If a couple is concerned with donor inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. (DI), the partners can consult the woman's gynecologist or come directly to the CPMA. The attending gynecologist may, if desired, make the first examinations for the purpose of drawing up the file for the DI. Once these examinations are carried out the file is validated by a doctor in the CPMA. In the Centre, each couple also participates in a psychological interview to deepen the reflection on some specific aspects of the treatment and the emotional issues, on a personal level, within the couple and with family or friends.

If all these conditions are met, another interview with a doctor in the Centre will answer any remaining questions. A "contract" will be signed by both partners. With this signature they confirm that they are aware of the existence of the Swiss law (LPMAThe Swiss Law on Medically Assisted Procreation (2001).) and that they accept the terms. The donor will then be assigned and the inseminations can begin.

What tests have to be done?

In the woman

In the man

In the couple

Participation in a psychological interview is required for each couple wishing DI treatment. This interview is intended to help the spouses to deepen their reflection on the implications of this treatment and to answer any questions. For example, whether the couple has already reflected on the disclosure of information about the donor. The emotional aspects and management are also explored on a personal level, within the couple and family relationships. The couples also have the opportunity to participate in groups, where other couples concerned with DI share their experiences.

How is the donor attributed?

The donor is assigned according to his physical characteristics which are weight, height, skin, hair and eye colors. The donor's blood type is chosen according to those of the prospective parents.

What is the cost of a DI treatment?

The basic medical insurance covers the inherent costs of three inseminations (deductible and cost sharing excluded). Twelve cycles of stimulationOvarian stimulation. Medical treatment designed to stimulate the ovaries, the follicular growth and development. This treatment usually allows several oocytes to become mature. are theoretically at the charge of the insurances. However, in order to avoid misunderstandings, the doctor of the CPMA will write to the medical officer of the insurance in order to receive a confirmation that the treatment will be paid for while maintaining secrecy about the spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. origin. Mainly for reasons of confidentiality, you will receive at home an invoice for the straws of semen that you should pay without passing it on to the insurance. The straws are charged CHF 550.-. From the fourth inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. on, a flat rate of CHF 750 .- including costs exclusively related to the inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. will be charged separately from that for the straws.

What are the chances of success?

The pregnancy rate per inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. is between 10-15% per cycle depending on whether it is stimulated or not. It is clear that the presence of an additional female factor of subfertilityReduced fertility. would decrease the chances of conceiving.

How is donor insemination performed?

The principle involves placing the spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. in the uterusPear-shaped organ that contains and nourishes the fetus during pregnancy, which contracts in a powerful and rhythmic manner at birth to expel the fetus. through the cervixLower part of the uterus, adjacent to and reaching into the vagina, which secretes an alkaline mucus to protect the sperm from acidic environment of the vagina. a few hours before the woman's ovulationThe release of the egg from the ovary. A mature follicle bursts, expelling the egg it contains into the fallopian tube. This usually occurs around the middle of the menstrual cycle.. Your doctor will determine the time of ovulationThe release of the egg from the ovary. A mature follicle bursts, expelling the egg it contains into the fallopian tube. This usually occurs around the middle of the menstrual cycle. and therefore the day of inseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus.. For this purpose three methods are available: vaginalRelating to the vagina. ultrasound with measurement of the follicleFluid-filled sac in the ovary containing and nourishing the egg during its maturation. During ovulation, the follicle bursts and releases the egg.(s), a blood tests or urine tests. StimulationOvarian stimulation. Medical treatment designed to stimulate the ovaries, the follicular growth and development. This treatment usually allows several oocytes to become mature. pills or subcutaneousUnder the skin. daily injections may be prescribed depending on your medical situation. InseminationProcess to facilitate the meeting of spermatozoon and oocyte (egg). Using a catheter, semen prepared for this purpose is brought directly into the uterus. takes only a few minutes, it is done as a gynecological examination and causes no pain. After resting a few minutes, you can resume your normal activities.

How can I be sure that the semen used is without risk of transmission of sexually transmitted diseases?

Every precaution is taken to minimize the risk of contamination by sexually transmitted diseases. The Federal Ordinance on the Control of transplants lists all examinations to be performed. Practically, once ​​the spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. donation is made, the donor's spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. is immediately frozen and kept in sealed straws. The donor is checked every three months (for details of the tests performed go to the "donor") and it is only after two negative tests that the spermEjaculated spermatozoa and secretions during the male orgasm. can be used.

CPMA, Rue de la Vigie 5, 1003 Lausanne, tél: 021 321 15 80

Questions de couples

Quelles sont les indications à l'insémination avec sperme de donneur (IAD)?

La découverte de l’ICSIDe l’anglais “Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection”. Injection intracytoplasmique de spermatozoïde. Fécondation assistée par microscope, où l’on injecte un spermatozoïde unique directement dans l’ovocyte. L’ICSI est indiquée en cas de problème de la fertilité masculine, donc si l’on ne trouve que très peu de spermatozoïdes normaux dans le sperme ou que la capacité de fécondation des spermatozoïdes est extrêmement réduite. a permis de réduire le nombre de couples devant recourir à une IAD, toutefois il existe encore plusieurs indications au don de spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin.:

Pourquoi le don de sperme?

Le don de spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. est le seul moyen pour un couple dont l’homme est définitivement stérile de concevoir, de vivre une grossesse, un accouchement, de transmettre une partie de son patrimoine génétique. Il permet au père légal de vivre la grossesse de son épouse et la naissance de l’enfant. Le couple participe dès la survenue de l’enfant à son développement et son éducation. Il est clair que le recours à des inséminations par spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. de donneur (IAD) n’est pas une démarche facile et certains couples préfèreront, malgré d'autres difficultés, se diriger vers l’adoption. 

Qui peut bénéficier de l'insémination avec sperme de donneur (IAD)?

Selon la loi suisse sur la procréation médicalement assistée (LPMALoi sur la Procréation Médicalement Assistée., Art 3 al.3), seuls les couples mariés peuvent recourir au don de spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin.. Les couples doivent évidemment présenter une indication médicale masculine pour bénéficier de ce traitement.

Quelle procédure suivre?

Si un couple est concerné par l’inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur. avec le spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. d'un donneur (IAD), il peut s'adresser au gynécologue traitant de l'épouse ou directement au CPMA. Le gynécologue traitant pourra, s’il le désire, effectuer les premiers examens dans le dessein de constituer le dossier en vue d’une IAD. Une fois ces examens effectués, le dossier est validé par un médecin du CPMA. Dans le Centre, chaque couple participe également à un entretien psychologique pour approfondir la réflexion sur quelques aspects spécifiques de l'IAD et sur la gestion émotionnelle personnelle, au sein du couple et avec l'entourage. 
Si toutes ces conditions sont réunies, un entretien avec un médecin cadre du Centre permettra de répondre aux éventuelles questions. Un « contrat » sera alors signé par les deux membres du couple. Par cette signature ils attestent du fait qu'ils ont pris connaissance de la LPMALoi sur la Procréation Médicalement Assistée. et qu'ils en acceptent les modalités. Le donneur sera alors attribué et les inséminations pourront commencer.

Quels examens faut-il faire?

Chez la femme

Chez l’homme

Chez le couple

  • La participation à un entretien psychologique est obligatoire pour chaque couple désirant un traitement par IAD. Cet entretien a pour but d'aider les conjoints à approfondir leur réflexion sur les implications de ce traitement et de répondre aux questions éventuelles. Par exemple, la manière dont les conjoints ont réfléchi à la divulgation des informations concernant le donneur est abordé. Les aspects émotionnels et leur gestion sont également explorés sur les plans personnel, au sein du couple et dans les relations familiales.  Les couples ont aussi la possibilité de participer à des groupes de réflexion (échanger les expériences) spécifiques pour les personnes concernées par l’IAD.
Comment le donneur est-il attribué?

Le donneur est attribué selon ses caractéristiques physiques qui sont le poids, la taille, la couleur de la peau, des cheveux et des yeux. Le groupe sanguin du donneur est choisi en fonction de celui des futurs parents.

Combien coûte une IAD?

L’assurance de base prend en charge les frais inhérents à trois inséminations (franchise et participation aux frais exclus). Douze cycles de stimulationStimulation ovarienne. Traitement médical ayant pour but de stimuler, dans les ovaires, la croissance et le développement folliculaire. Ce traitement permet généralement d'amener à maturité plusieurs ovocytes. sont théoriquement à la charge des caisses. Toutefois dans le but d’éviter les malentendus, le médecin du CPMA écrira au médecin-conseil de la caisse concernée pour que celle-ci confirme la prise en charge du traitement tout en respectant le secret vis-à-vis de l’origine du spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin.. Pour des raisons essentiellement de confidentialité, vous recevrez à domicile une facture concernant les paillettes de spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. dont vous devrez vous acquitter sans la transmettre à l’assurance. Les paillettes sont facturées CHF 550.-. Dès la quatrième inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur., un forfait de CHF 750.- comprenant les frais inhérents exclusivement à l’inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur. et les paillettes vous sera facturé.

Comment se déroule une IAD?

Le principe consiste à placer les spermatozoïdes dans la cavité utérine en passant par le col de l’utérusPartie inférieure de l’utérus, attenante au vagin, qui sécrète une glaire alcaline protégeant les spermatozoïdes du milieu acide du vagin. quelques heures avant l’ovulationLibération de l’ovule. Un follicule parvenu à maturité éclate, expulsant l’ovule qu’il contient dans la trompe. Ceci se produit généralement vers le milieu du cycle menstruel.. Votre médecin déterminera le moment de l’ovulationLibération de l’ovule. Un follicule parvenu à maturité éclate, expulsant l’ovule qu’il contient dans la trompe. Ceci se produit généralement vers le milieu du cycle menstruel. et par conséquent le jour de l’inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur.. Pour ce faire trois méthodes sont disponibles à savoir : l’échographie vaginale avec la mesure du folliculePoche remplie de liquide dans l’ovaire contenant et nourrissant l’ovule pendant sa maturation. Lors de l’ovulation, le follicule éclate et libère l’ovule., une prise de sang, des test urinaires. Une stimulationStimulation ovarienne. Traitement médical ayant pour but de stimuler, dans les ovaires, la croissance et le développement folliculaire. Ce traitement permet généralement d'amener à maturité plusieurs ovocytes. par comprimés ou injections quotidiennes sous-cutanées pourront être prescrites selon votre situation. L’inséminationProcédé destiné à faciliter la rencontre du spermatozoïde et de l’ovule. A l’aide d’un cathéter, du sperme préparé à cet effet est amené à l’entrée du col de l’utérus ou directement dans l’utérus.L’insémination peut se faire avec le sperme du partenaire ou du sperme de donneur. ne dure que quelques minutes, se pratique comme un examen gynécologique et n’occasionne aucune douleur. Après un repos de quelques minutes, vous pouvez reprendre votre activité normale.

Comment puis-je être sûr que le sperme utilisé ne présente aucun danger de transmission de maladies sexuellement transmissibles ?

Toutes les précautions sont prises pour limiter au maximum le risque de contamination par des maladies sexuellement transmissibles. L’ordonnance fédérale sur le contrôle des transplants spécifie les examens à effectuer. Pratiquement, une fois le don réalisé, le spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. du donneur est immédiatement congelé et conservé dans des paillettes scellées. Le donneur est contrôlé tous les trois mois (pour les détails des examens pratiqués se rendre dans la section « donneur ») et ce n’est qu’après deux examens négatifs que le spermeSpermatozoïdes et sécrétions éjaculés au moment de l’orgasme masculin. pourra être utilisé.

CPMA, Rue de la Vigie 5, 1003 Lausanne, tél: 021 321 15 80